AfTIAS in a Nutshell

The Aid for Trade Initiative for Arab States (AfTIAS) in a Nutshell


  • Enhance regional competitiveness through trade reforms
  • Strengthen trade supply side and value chain integration 
  • Strengthen regional and sub-regional organizations’ capacity to foster trade integration



  • 7 donors5 UN executing agencies
  • 21 Arab countries
  • 4 Regional integration organizations
  • 3 Specialized & private sector entities


Partner Countries

LDCs (6)

Sudan, Mauritania, Yemen, Djibouti, Comoros and Somalia 

Middle Income Countries (9)

Agadir Agreement Countries (4):

Egypt, Tunisia, Morocco and Jordan

Other Middle Income Countries (5)

Libya, Lebanon, Algeria, Palestine and Iraq.

Higher income countries (6)

Gulf Cooperation Council (6):

Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, Emirate Arab United (EAU), Oman and Qatar

 Donor Contributions

Donor Amount (US$ Million)
Saudi Arabia 3.0
Kuwait 2.0
Kingdom of Sweden 1.5
Egypt 0.5
Islamic Development Bank 1.0
ITFC 1.0
UNDP 1.0
Total 10.0


Regional Integration Organizations UN Executing Agencies
League of Arab States (LAS) United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)
Agadir Technical Unit (ATU) International Labour Office (ILO)
Arab Maghreb Union (AMU) International Trade Centre (ITC)
Gulf Countries Cooperation (GCC) United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD)
    United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO)


Contact Us

  • P.O. Box 55335, Jeddah 21534
  • Kingdom of Saudi Arabia
  • Tel: +966 12 646 8364
  • Fax: +966 12 637 1064